The Federal Communications Commission (FCC) is promoting its annual initiative to highlight disability technology and innovations.

Innovation is one of the core drivers for advancement in accessibility for people with disabilities. The Chairman’s Awards for Advancement in Accessibility (Chairman’s AAA) is an FCC program recognizing products, services, standards and other innovative developments that improve the experience of people with disabilities in telecommunications and technology.

FCC is currently seeking nominations for the fifth Chairman’s Awards for Advancement in Accessibility. This FCC program recognize products, services, standards and other innovative developments that improve the experience of people with disabilities in telecommunications and technology.

If an organization or consumer audience have used, seen, partnered with, or created a product, service, or innovation in 2015 that has significantly improved access for people with disabilities, please let FCC know by emailing [email protected]. FCC can either provide guidance on submitting a nomination, or follow up with a potential nominee directly.

Chairman’s AAA Nomination Instructions from FCC
How can I submit a nomination?
The nominating period is open from Jan. 11 through March 31, 2016. The nominations process is simple and straightforward. Send an email to [email protected] with the following information about a product, service, standard or other innovation developed or introduced to the public during calendar year 2015:   Description of the program/challenge that is addressed by the innovation. Description of the innovation, with attachments or links to more detailed information if available. Description of how the Chairman’s Award would impact continued development in this area, or improvement in the solution. Description of why this particular innovation qualifies for the Chairman’s Award. Anyone can submit a nomination, and self-nominations are encouraged. (Read the FCC’s Public Notice on nominations for 2016 awards.) How will nominations be evaluated?
A selection committee at the FCC will evaluate nominations based on the following criteria: How unique and inventive is the nominated effort? How does it address disability needs? For example: Does it have a positive, significant impact in meeting the unique needs of specific underserved or small populations? Does it reach a broader audience to increase awareness or promote deployment or adoption of accessible technologies? How affordable and available is the nominated effort for its intended users? To what degree would the nominated effort significantly and tangibly benefit from recognition by the Chairman? What do winners receive?
Winners will be recognized at an awards ceremony in June 2016. Winners will also receive a plaque from the FCC, and will be commemorated on a permanent plaque on display at FCC Headquarters in Washington.
Above information retrieved from:

Nominations will be accepted until March 31, 2016 for innovations from 2015.

Federal Communications Commission (FCC) will co-host the Awards ceremony of the FCC Chairman’s Awards for Advancement in Accessibility (Chairman’s AAA) at the M-Enabling Summit on June 13 from 4:45 pm till 5:45 pm. The awards ceremony will be preceded by remarks from FCC Chairman Tom Wheeler. The FCC will also host a session on Monday June 13th covering the “21st Century CVAA Scorecard” chaired by Karen Peltz Strauss, FCC Deputy Bureau Chief, Consumer and Governmental Affairs (CGB) Bureau and Rosaline Crawford, Attorney-Advisor, CGB Disability Rights Office.

For more detailed information, visit